A couple of days ago I was browsing through the LCBO vintages section, as I like to do, and came across this Alsatian Pino Gris. I have heard much about Alsacian wines, their crisp clarity of flavour and precision of quality – this is of course often mentioned of most French wines. So I decided to pick this wine up and give it a taste at dinner. I had been given the menu of BBQ’d pork chops, grilled pineapple, coleslaw and BBQ’d potatoes. I wasn’t entirely sure if it would pair correctly, but it was worth a shot.

The wine I chose was Domaine Zind-Humbrecht biodynamic Pinot Gris, 2011 vintage. I enjoy trying out biodynamic or organic wines, always looking for a difference in flavour or vibrancy. This wine definitely didn’t disappoint.

I got home for a visit with my family put the wine in the fridge and jumped in the pool. We got dinner ready and prepared everything to eat outside. It was such a gorgeous day! We pulled out the Pinot Gris for a taste with dinner.

I did my little taste test before I took a bite of the meal (this is my favourite meal, so it was an act of patience to wait). The nose was fragrant and showed a vibrancy of fruit that I had hoped. Notes of cantaloupe, ripe peach, some tropical fruits, honey, slight petrol quality, and limestone minerality were the most notable. The first sip offered up great acidity, with a slightly creamy mouth feel – hinting at malolactic fermentation – with full, almost robust, flavours filling the mouth. The peach and cantaloupe were front and centre, tropical notes more in the mid-palate, with the minerality finishing the palate off with all of that bright acidity and honeyed notes. What shocked me the most was how high in alcohol the wine was – 14.5%! It was such a well-made wine, however, that the alcohol didn’t even have a burn, it was just part of the make-up. 

After making an analysis of the wine I dived into dinner. And all of the flavours of the wine complimented the flavours happening on the plate. It was one of those moments where your mouth does a happy dance (hopefully some of you know what that feels like!). I would suggest this be on your must try list, and give it a shot and perfect for the lighter fare summer BBQ foods. 

